Us citizens will not be authorized to vacation to EU countries when the bloc opens up to international readers July 1.

United states of america These days

For the second time this thirty day period, the European Union extended its travel ban on People in america on Thursday, as COVID-19 bacterial infections ongoing to rise across the United States.

The EU 1st began lifting its travel restrictions outside the bloc on July 1, welcoming visitors from 14 countries, which includes Canada, South Korea and Australia. The U.S. was left off that initial listing, and the EU extended its ban on Americans traveling to the bloc on July 16.

The announcement, by the European Council, arrived soon after EU officials done their biweekly evaluate of travel restrictions, examining coronavirus trends and containment measures in each individual region to decide no matter if to include or narrow the list of permitted vacationers. 

The vital measurement: The pandemic outbreak in a supplied region desires to be similarly contained – or greater – than in the EU.

The United States experienced more than 4.4 million COVID-19 circumstances as of Thursday, and much more than 151,000 fatalities, far more than any other nation, in accordance to Johns Hopkins College.

European nations have designed substantially much more progress in made up of the coronavirus, which brings about COVID-19. According to EU info, the bloc – which includes the European Economic Region (EU countries as well as Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) and the United Kingdom –  described additional than 1.7 million scenarios as of Thursday.

Three U.S. states — California, Florida and New York — have additional than 400,000 situations, when a fourth, Texas, has just about as lots of. No other EU country has far more than 300,000 conditions, according to the European Centre for Illness Avoidance and Manage.

Here are the dozen countries where by citizens are authorized to go to the EU. The checklist has not improved from two weeks ago, when Montenegro and Serbia were being taken out:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject matter to affirmation of reciprocity

Thursday’s decree does not use to journey to Britain, which still left the EU in January.

The U.S. Condition Office has encouraged Individuals from intercontinental travel considering the fact that March.


Exhibit Thumbnails

Display Captions

Browse or Share this story: